Skip to main content

Our Team


What is the Office of Research Development?


The university-level Research Development Office (RDO) is under the Associate Academic Vice President (AAVP) for Research and Graduate Studies, Dr. Larry Howell. The RDO supports faculty and students in their efforts to secure external research funding. The RDO manages the Interdisciplinary Research Origination Awards and various limited submission opportunities. The office also runs a range of grantsmanship development workshops as well as seminars with program officers from various funding agencies. The Director of Research Development also manages the Research Development Coordinating Council.

We are located in the McDonald Building. Find us here!

What does the Research Development Office do?

Kristen Kellems, J.D.

Research Development Director
kckellems@byu.edu
275 MCDB
801-422-8967

Mandi Rolfe

Research Development Administrator
mandi_rolfe@byu.edu
269 MCDB
801-422-0132
  • Facilitates interdisciplinary collaborations through research networking and the Interdisciplinary Research Origination Awards​
  • Connects external funders with BYU faculty​
  • Manages limited submission processes
  • Manages international funding opportunities (Fulbright Program)​
  • Strengthens grantsmanship skills through targeted workshops​
  • Manages the Research Development Coordinating Council​
  • Builds research culture across campus

What is the Research Development Coordinating Council?


The Research Development Coordinating Council is comprised of university-level and college-based Research Development Specialists. The council coordinates to facilitate and build a vibrant research culture on BYU campus. The Specialists work together on university-wide events, but each college-based RD Specialist can help faculty and students in their respective colleges with a variety of activities, some of which include:

  • Identifying funding sources
  • Editing and revising proposals
  • Aligning proposal components with funder requirements
  • Assistance in drafting some proposal components (i.e. Biosketch, budget forms)
  • Administrative support on proposals (Kuali submission assistance)
  • Disseminating information on Research Development seminars and events

Who to contact:

Kristi Chase

Grant Development Specialist
College of Engineering
kchase@byu.edu
240M EB
801-422-3067

Kaytlin Mangelson

Research Development Specialist
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
kaytlin_mangelson@byu.edu
460M EB
801-422-4969

Lael Thompson

Research Development Officer
College of Physical and Mathematical Sciences
lael_thompson@byu.edu
268 MCDB
801-422-5818

Michelle Prososki

Research Development Administrator
College of Physical and Mathematical Sciences
michelle_prososki@byu.edu
262 MCDB
801-422-1874

Rita E. Cortez

Managing Director
BYU Language Flagship Center - Chinese & Arabic
rita_cortez@byu.edu
3122 JKB
801-422-2200

Erica Miller

Research Development Coordinator
Marriott School of Business
erica_miller@byu.edu
271 MCDB
801-422-5860

Lisa Campbell, RN

Research Development Specialist
College of Nursing
lisa.campbell@byu.edu
262 MCDB
801-422-1939

Tate Wilson

Grant Proposal Specialist/Research Development Officer
College of Life Sciences
LSgrants@byu.edu
5006 LSB
801-422-3638

Brittany Freeze

Research Development Specialist
College of Family, Home, & Social Sciences
brittany_freeze@byu.edu
262 MCDB
801-422-5869

Taunja Baxter

Grant Writer
Marketing and Communications
LDS Philanthropies
taunja.baxter@ChurchofJesusChrist.org
203A LDSP
801-356-5263

Steve Christensen

McKay School of Education Coordinator
steven.christensen@byu.edu
201-C MCKB
801-422-3858