Skip to main content


This award honors individuals in education, academia and research for their distinguished service, significant achievement, and positive impact to the state of Utah. The nominations are due January 27th. The individuals nominated should provide meaningful scientific, research, STEM education or deep technology contributions.

The submission mechanism is a Google Form, the link is on the website below.

What to Include

  • Nomination form (completed by ADR or Dean of College)
  • 2-3 letters of support (preferably one from outside the institution)
  • Nomination and letters of support can come from any individual, including colleagues, collaborators, etc. both inside or outside of the institution (we are asking the ADRs from each college do submit the nomination)
  • No word limits for the nomination form or letters of support but they usually don’t exceed 2 pages. 

Utah Innovation Center Contact:
Jared Goodspeed,

Considerations for the Academic/Research Category

For members of the faculty or administration of higher education institutions who distinguished themselves in the field of science, engineering, or other technologies, these additional factors should be considered:

  • Quality of research activities
  • The extent of recognition by peers
  • Recognition as an educator
  • Personal research and science achievements
  • Connect to Utah—building jobs or tech transfer
overrideTextColor= overrideCardAlternateTextColor= overrideDisableBackgroundImage= overrideTextAlignment= overrideCardHideSection= overrideCardHideByline= overrideCardHideDescription= overrideCardShowButton= overridebuttonBgColor= overrideButtonText=

BYU Recipients of the Governor's Science Medal

2023 - Julie Valentine 2004 - Arden Pope 1996 - Morris Robbins 1990 - Reed M. Izatt
2016 - Timothy McLain 2000 - Richard Tolman 1994 - Tracy Hall 1988 - Douglas Chabries
2016 - Kyle Rollins 1999 - Marvin N. Tolman 1992 - Bevan Ott 1987 - L.Douglas Smoot
2008 - Brent Adams 2005 - Daniel L. Simmons 1992 - Levi Hintze 1987 - Del Allen
2006 - Merrill W. Beckstead 1998 - Joseph Hugh Baird 1991 - Jerald Bradshaw